Account Login
Paris, TX 76°F Clouds

Paris High School debaters advance to national tournament; UIL academics teams win top awards

PHS debate and uil winners Jan 11 2014 REVParis High School’s debate team qualified for the national tournament of the National Catholic Forensics League by placing at the qualifying meet in Austin on Jan. 11. National finals will be held May 23-25 in Chicago.

Sophomores Erin Wright and Maggie Maxwell placed first in Duo Interpretation. Sophomore Kendra Thomas placed second in Lincoln-Douglas debate. Sophomore Sherya Singh placed fourth and qualified as an alternate. They are coached by Ed Lee.

On the same day, the Paris High UIL academic teams came home with top awards from their first practice meet of the year at Mount Pleasant. The team won second place overall for total team points. Two individuals and three teams finished in first place, while three individuals and one team earned second placed awards. Two students also finished second in their individual categories.

In Accounting, Arish Pardiwalla placed first and Matthew Draegar placed fifth. They also placed first in team with Pardiwalla, Draegar, and Aria Carl. In Spelling, Evelyn Gulde was first, Shikha Prakash finished second, and Tiffine Haan placed fifth. The team earned a first place win with Gulde, Prakash, Haan, Jazlyn Pipkins, and Shelby McCormak.  Billy Harris placed second in Current Events and Sophia Pentland placed sixth. The team won first place with Harris, Pentland, Tiffini Haan, and Arish Pardiwalla. In Social Studies, Sophia Pentland was third and Alexis Willison finished fourth. The team of Pentland, Willison, and Danielle Callaway won second place. In Ready Writing, Molly Jackson placed second, Pharceni Battle placed fifth, and Christy Kendall placed sixth. In Computer Applications, Victoria Davis was third and Leah Heidman won fourth.  In Editorial, Andrew Garrison placed fourth. In Number Sense, Wendall Johnson was fourth. In Literary Criticism, Tomesha Robins placed sixth. They are coached by Eric Chaverria, Abby Rogers, Cheryl Brown, Angie Black, Jennifer Goldston, Barbara McGill, and Kim Ekstrom.

Pictured:  Paris High School winners at the January 11 debate meet and UIL meet beginning front left are Matthew Draeger, Andrew Garrison, William Harris, Victoria Davis, and Jazlyn Pipkins. On row two are Leah Heidman, Wendell Johnson, Pharceni Battle, Alexis Willison, Arish Pardiwalla, Shelby McCormick, Maggie Maxwell, and Kendra Thomas. In back are Sophia Pentland, Molly Jackson, Tiffine Haan, Deja Patterson, Shikha Prakash, Aria Carl, Erin Wright, Evelyn Gulde, Tomesha Robins, Danielle Callaway, and Christy Kendall.

Jamar Contractors