Account Login
Paris, TX 76°F Clouds

Primary election runoff concluded Tuesday

— The primary runoff election concluded on Tuesday, May 27, at which time the winners were announced. To see the results of Tuesday’s local runoff election, CLICK HERE

The March 4 party primary elections that led to a runoff election between candidates on the local, statewide and national levels, will conclude today, with the winners announced this evening.

Vote_Here_sign_slider sizeLocally, the runoffs will decide on the Republican party primary, as none of the Democratic candidates had challengers — incumbent Chuck Superville, who ran for county judge; incumbent Shirley Fults, who ran for treasurer; and Precinct 2 Commissioner Lonnie Layton, who is seeking to retain his seat.

The race for Precinct 2 Commissioner and county judge will be decided in the November general election.

The early voting period for the today’s runoff election began Monday, May 19, concluding on Friday, May 23.

Today will be the last day to cast a vote for a candidate in this runoff election, so if you have not voted, make your way to the Lamar County Services Building — located at 231 Lamar Avenue — to fill out a ballot. The services building, which is the former post office, is the only polling location for this election.

The runoff is a result of candidates not receiving at least half of the votes cast in the March 4 primary election, so the top two vote-getters in each race that wasn’t decided in March will be decided on today.

The Republican and Democratic candidates on the ballot for party primary in the runoff election are below.

— Republican Party Primary Races — 


  • Justice of the Peace, Precinct 5, Place 2 – between Paris Police Department spokesman, Curtis Garrett, and incumbent Gene Hobbs, Jr.
  • Constable, Precinct 5 – between Jimmy Hodges and Gerry Don Hines


  • Lieutenant Governor –  between David Dewhurst and Dan Patrick
  • Attorney General – between Dan Branch and Ken Paxton
  • Commissioner of Agriculture – between Tommy Merritt and Sid Miller
  • Railroad Commissioner – between Wayne Christian and Ryan Sitton


  • U.S. Representative for Texas congressional district 4 – between John Ratcliffe and incumbent Ralph Hall

The two races to decide on Democratic party primary in this runoff are:

  • United States Senator (National) – between Davide M. Alameel and Kesha Rogers
  • Commissioner of Agriculture (State) – between Richard “Kinky” Friedman and Jim Hogan

If you haven’t voted, you have one day left to do so. Stay tuned to for election results this evening when they are announced.

Peeples Insurance