NL School Board Member Dave Osborne to Resign

North LamarDave Osborne, North Lamar ISD School Board Trustee for the past ten years, turned in his resignation letter on Monday morning, July 28th during a special session.

The school board met in a special meeting on Monday morning and agreed to accept applications for the trustee position.

The school board will vote to accept his resignation at the regularly scheduled meeting on August 11th. Applications will be accepted for a ten day period following that meeting.

School Board President Paul Drake said, “He was a tremendous board member, his insight is going to be missed, what else do you say, he will be greatly missed.”

On July 28th, the NL ISD Board of Trustees also voted to hire new superintendent John McCullough.

North Lamar ISD Hires New Superintendent

John McCullough

John McCullough

During Monday night’s board meeting, the North Lamar ISD board of trustees voted unanimously to hire John McCullough as the new superintendent.

John McCullough was the superintendent at Sulphur Bluff ISD for the past two years and will be replacing longtime NLISD Superintendent James Dawson.

North Lamar ISD Names New Superintendent

John McCullough

John McCullough

Yesterday, July 8th, the NL ISD School Board approved John McCullough, current superintendent of Sulphur Bluff ISD, as the lone finalist to become North Lamar’s new superintendent.

Mr. McCullough has been at Sulphur Bluff ISD for two years and would be replacing James Dawson, who served as NL Superintendent for 26 years.  Currently, Assistant Superintendent Shelly McDowell is acting as interim superintendent.

Paul Jones, Paris ISD superintendent stated, “I have known John McCullough both personally and professionally for many years. He is both an experienced superintendent and a quality person. We were superintendents of neighboring school districts in Hopkins county and worked cooperatively sharing many services which benefited students of both school districts. We not only co-oped special services between our pervious districts–we were one of the few schools districts in the state of Texas that shared a business office. I look forward to his move to Lamar county.”

The North Lamar ISD School Board will have a vote to hire him in 21 days.



North Lamar Chancellor Signs with East Central University

Lexie Chancellor signingNorth Lamar High School 2014 graduate Lexie Chancellor, seated left, will play basketball for the East Central University Lady Tigers.

The First Team All-District and All-Red River Valley Player will report to her new team in Ada, Oklahoma, in the fall.

Seated with her is her mother, Gina Prestridge.  Standing from left is NLHS Head Basketball Coach Chris Arledge and NL Superintendent James A. Dawson.  Not pictured is her father, Chad Chancellor.

2014 NLEF Scholarship Recipients

2014 NLEF RecipientsSixty-six North Lamar graduates were awarded scholarships from the North Lamar Education Foundation (NLEF) totaling $46,250. Scholarship range from $500 to $2,000 and may be used at junior colleges, colleges, universities, and vocational and technical schools. 

The 2014 recipients are: Kelsie Allen, Jackie Berry – James Graves Vocational Endowed Scholarship, Haley Blount – Payne Band Endowed Scholarship, Bailey Bolton – Matthew McFadden Memorial Scholarship, Balee Brown – Donna Campbell Memorial Endowed Scholarship, Cosette Brown, Kylie Burchinal, Lexie Chancellor, Brandon Clark,Jessica Clayton, Ryan Conner, Lauren Coursey, Jacob Cowling – David Buster Memorial Endowed Scholarship, Kathleen Dawson, Molly Denman, Skylar Dillen, Angelia Dobbs, Kaylie Dority, Benjamin Drake – FFA Endowed Scholarship, Sarah Duncan, Brandon Dusenberry – Dr. Tommy Eads Memorial Endowed Scholarship, Aaron Edwards, Jamie Ellis – Carolyn Drake Memorial Endowed Scholarship, Bailey Ellrich, Delaney England, Ty England, Sam Erickson – Valedictorian Scholarship and Class of 1989 Endowed Scholarship, Matthew Fernandez – Tyler Thompson Memorial Endowed Scholarship, Rachel Freeman, Jessica French,Daniel Gibbons, Shemar Hawkins – Judy Elizabeth Blease Memorial Endowed Scholarship, Hannah Igleheart – Carolyn Drake Memorial Endowed Scholarship, Madeline Jolley, Joshua Knowles – Jeremy Dickey Memorial Endowed Scholarship, Mitchell Lacey – Rhonda Morris Endowed Scholarship, Jose Leyva – Dr. Tommy Eads Memorial Endowed Scholarship, Amber Loftin, Joseph Logan – Chad Rose Memorial Endowed Scholarship, Bonnie McIlyar – Traveling Spirit Scholarship, Emily McIlyar, Miranda McNabb, Ashley Miller – Donna Campbell Memorial Endowed Scholarship, Yuliana Morales, Carley Moss, Jerica Newman, Ethan Nicholson, Cheslee Oliver – Class of 1975 Endowed Scholarship, Kassandra Perez, Michaela Phillips – Thomas McVay Memorial Endowed Scholarship, Kelsey Preston, Chase Ramsey, Carson Rast – Salutatorian Scholarship and Gil Flautt Memorial Endowed Scholarship, Taylor Reavis, Holland Russell, Kreagan Scott, Nhi Son, Erin Stone, Tori Sullivan, Dayton Thibodeaux, Gabrielle Torres, Blair Viehe, Victoria White – Charles Bush Memorial Endowed Scholarship, Rebekah Wiley, Brian Wintermute – Richard Peter Memorial Scholarship, and Kaitlyn Wood.

The North Lamar Education Foundation is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization established in 1998 to assist North Lamar students in furthering their education beyond high school.  Tax-deductible contributions are made through donations, memorials and honorariums, fund-raisers, endowments, and planned giving.  For further information or to make a contribution to NLEF, contact Nancy Beall at 3201 Lewis Lane, Paris, Texas, 75460 or by calling 903.737.2003 x 1501.