Account Login
Paris, TX 76°F Clouds

Zone champion PJC begins Region XIV baseball tourney tonight in Lufkin

LUFKIN — Paris Junior College, East Zone champions of Region XIV, will play San Jacinto College at 8 p.m. today in the opening round of the 2014 Region XIV baseball tournament.

The double-elimination tournament will run through Wednesday at Angelina College in Lufkin for the top four seeds in Region XIV’s East and South zones.

The Dragons (29-21, 19-11), the No. 1 seed from the East, will face San Jacinto (30-26, 20-19), the No. 4 seed from the South in the fourth game of the tournament‘s opening round.

PJC’s Dragons are looking to advance to the Junior College World Series in Grand Junction, Colo., on May 24-31.

All tournament games are to be live-streamed over the Internet at

PJC players took down all three major Region XIV honors during conference play — the first time in eight years that a Region XIV team has done that:

Player of the YearBradley McDonald, Wills Point HS, who has committed to play with the University of Central Oklahoma. He batted .457 in conference with 10 doubles and 20 runs batted in.

Pitcher of the YearCallaway Kirkpatrick, Aledo HS, who has signed a letter of intent with Marshall University. He had an 0.90 earned-run average, a 7-2 conference record and gave up only 10 walks.

Freshman of the YearCannon Chadwick, Paris HS, who has signed a letter of intent with the University of Arkansas. He had the league’s second-best ERA behind Kirkpatrick at 1.20 with a 5-2 record in Region XIV play. He had 63 strikeouts in 67 innings.

“To have all three spots in this category is awesome. No team in our conference has had all three spots since Navarro in 2006,” said PJC baseball coach and Athletic Director Deron Clark.

Six other Dragons won all-conference honors:

Catcher Ryan Pulsifer, Frisco Centennial HS.Second baseman Garrett Dodd, McKinney HS.

Third baseman Logan Terwilliger, Rockwall HS, who will continue his career at Southeastern Oklahoma.

Outfielder Logan Sepanek, Flower Mound Marcus HS.

Outfielder Trey Mound, Flower Mound Marcus HS.

Pitcher Heston Van Fleet, Kingsville Rivera HS, who will join Kirkpatrick at Marshall University.


Game 1 — 10 a.m.: No. 2 East seed Navarro vs. No. 3 South seed Blinn.

Game 2 — 1 p.m.: No. 3 East seed Panola vs. No. 2 South seed Galveston.

Game 3 — 5 p.m.: No. 4 East seed Angelina vs. No. 1 South seed Alvin.

Game 4 — 8 p.m. — No. 1 East seed Paris vs. No. 4 South seed San Jacinto.

SUNDAY, May 11:

Game 5 — 10 a.m.: Game 1 loser vs. Game 3 loser

Game 6 — 1 p.m.: Game 2 loser vs. Game 4 loser

Game 7 — 5 p.m.: Game 1 winner vs. Game 3 winner

Game 8 — 8 p.m.: Game 2 winner vs. Game 4 winner

MONDAY, May 12:

Game 9 — 10 a.m.: Game 7 loser vs. Game 6 winner

Game 10 — 1 p.m.: Game 8 loser vs. Game 5 winner

Game 11 — 5 p.m.: Game 7 winner vs. Game 8 winner

Game 12 — 8 p.m.: Game 9 winner vs. Game 10 winner

TUESDAY, May 13:

Game 13 — 1 p.m.: Game 11 loser vs. Game 12 winner

Game 14 — 5 p.m.: Game 11 winner vs. Game 13 winner


Game 15 — 1 p.m.: Game 14 loser (if first loss) vs. Game 14 winner

By Charles Richards, eParisExtra

NJCAA Region XIV Baseball Bracket

Young Title Company